The management area of the Gourma Water Agency is distributed between the international Volta basin and that of Niger, with an area of 50,238 Km². It includes the following sub-basins:

The sub-basins of the portion of the National Basin of Niger cover an area of 28,643 km² in the Gourma.
Those are :

  • the Sirba
  • Bonsaoga
  • the Dyamongou
  • Tapoa-Mékrou.

The Sub-Basins of the portion of the Nakanbé National Basin cover an area of 21,595 Km² in the Gourma
Those are :

  • the Pendjari
  • the Kompienga
  • the Doudodo
  • the Singou
  • The Sansargou.